Is love worth it?

Today was my first weekend off in house share.

I stayed in bed till 12 went and brought food and nail varnish.

I then face timed little bro and watched a film with house share.

I’ve had a lot of time to think this weekend, dipsticks family contacting me has brought up a lot of emotions.

I’ve been made to feel –

Small
Insignificant
Fat
Lazy
Dirty
Used
Disposable
Ugly
Frigid
Broken
Damaged
A fool
Laughed at
A joke
Vile
Abandoned
Unloved
Unlovable
Worthless
Repulsive
Cold
Fractured
Alone
Lonely
Unworthy
Boring
Old
Empty
Dead
Sick
Insignificant

How can something that started with pure love lead to such feelings.

Is love worth it? Now I’ve seen this side of it I’m not sure.

I was talking to a friend the other day – she has recently been through a divorce – she’s the same age as me.

She had a few glasses of wine – she then told me she had an idea regarding finding someone new. Her ex has cheated on her too.

She told me she would never be hurt again like this. She said she was going to find someone who was good to her but that she wouldn’t love him. He then couldn’t hurt her.

I gave her kind of a hard time but she explained

A man who was good to her
Sex
Life partner

She said she would give him everything but her heart and her trust.

It’s made me think, could it work?!

I know in my heart that I won’t survive this a second time (that if I survive this time).

Maybe her ideas not so bad?

I never want anyone to make me like this again.

3 thoughts on “Is love worth it?

  1. Your friend will never be hurt. But she’ll never feel joy either.

    There may be nothing in this world more important than love. To intentionally avoid it is foolhardy and a recipe for life-long dissatisfaction.

    Yes. Love is worth it. It’s worth risking heartache for.

    I hope you believe that.

Leave a Reply

